Follow by Email

President Rodrigo Duterte Declared Martial Law

List of provinces where Martial Law is in effect

President Rodrigo Duterte declared Martial Law in Mindanao after the Maute terrorist group occupied Marawi City in Lanao Del Sur.

Martial Law also known as “Batas Militar” in the Philippines became controversial during the time of former President Ferdinand Marcos because of the alleged human rights abuses committed by his government.

The imposition of martial law accompanies curfews, the suspension of civil law, civil rights and habeas corpus if the person was judicially charged for rebellion or offenses inherent in or directly connected with the invasion.

According to Section 18 Article VII of the 1987 Philippine Constitution, the President, as the commander-in-chief, may declare Martial Law in case of invasion or rebellion.

The proclamation should be confirmed by the Congress, then reviewed by the Supreme Court, and after 48 hours, Congress may revoke it via majority vote.

60 days is the maximum duration of the martial law in the 1987 PH Constitution, but the congress have the power to extend it.

The judicial and legislative branches would still function and would still be headed by civilians, different from the 1935 constitution which allowed the military to took over the courts and congress.

President Rodrigo Duterte warned that he will be harsh during the Martial Law days in Mindanao to destroy the terrorist groups trying to create chaos in the island.

Some human rights group already opposed the decision of President Rodrigo Duterte because they believe that “it will not address the circumstances of the current situation in Marawi, but will aggravate the insecurity in the area,”

Critics of President Rodrigo Duterte also believes that the government might expand the Martial Law and impose it nationwide.

This are the list of provinces and its capital that will be affected by Martial Law.

Zamboanga del Norte – Dipolog CityZamboanga del Sur – Pagadian CityZamboanga Sibugay – IpilBukidnon  – Malaybalay CityCamiguin – MambajaoLanao del Norte- TubodMisamis Occidental – Oroquieta CityMisamis Oriental – Cagayan de Oro CityCompostela Valley – NabunturanDavao del Norte – Tagum CityDavao del Sur – Digos CityDavao Oriental – City of MatiCotabato – Kidapawan CitySarangani – AlabelSouth Cotabato – Koronadal CitySultan Kudarat – IsulanAgusan del Norte – Cabadbaran CityAgusan del Sur – ProsperidadDinagat Islands – San JoseSurigao del Norte – Surigao CitySurigao del Sur – Tandag CityBasilan – BasilanLanao del Sur – Marawi CityMaguindanao – Sheriff Aguak/MaganoySulu – JoloTawi-Tawi Panglima Sugala/Balimbing

The Filipino President warned the terrorist groups several times that he would declare martial law in Mindanao if they continue their activities.

“pag ako ang nag-martial law, tatapusin ko talaga. Tandaan mo ‘yan. ‘Pag ako ang nag-declare ng martial law, tatapusin ko ang problema. Tapos as in tapos.” Duterte said during one of his interviews.

President Rodrigo Duterte after declaring Martial Law is now going back home to monitor the situation in Mindanao

Like & Share if you really care...

Search This Blog